The Fear of Being Bookless

I live in constant fear that I may run out of books and be left with nothing to read.  This fear is strongest when I’m about to travel somewhere. It’s as if I think there are no bookstores anywhere but in Toronto. Mind you I know the kind of books most readily available at airports. Not usually my style. And I have actually run out when on a trip and had to make do with some bestseller.

It was this fear that led to me buying a Sony E-Reader. Oh joy! Now I would  never run out of books!  And that was true. But I did run of juice. Battery dies…book gone.  Bereft again!

Right now I’m packing to go the cottage. Always the first thing I pack are the books, usually in a sturdy milk carton. It’s a blue one this year, crammed full of books I’ve been buying and saving up for those long lazy cottage days when I can tackle the big fat ones like Wolf Hall and The Girl Who Played With Fire. I threw in others like Old City Hall and Linwood Barkley’s latest in case things get too heavy and I need some suspense and crime to wake me up. One never knows, do one?

So for now I think I have the book front covered. And there’s always the General Store with its couple of shelves packed with dog eared paperbacks.  Just in case I run out.

About Caro Soles

Writer in several genres, lover of dachshunds and opera, with some ballet thrown in for good measure. I founded the Bloody Words Mystery Conference, which ran for 14 years as well as the Bony Blithe Award for Canadian Light Mysteries, but that, too, has come to an end. My latest novel is The River District, a look at the seamy side of Merculian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment